Do I miss my single years?

Friday night, I decided to check out an art gallery in Greensboro to see a friend’s work. I was by myself so I always try to be extra cautious when I move around. Sometimes I take my 9mm with me and sometimes I don’t.

Untitled-1 copyAfter I left, everything was lovely. I was within two miles of my home when I saw a driver swerve into the left lane of a two lane road. At first, I thought he was drunk. If I recall correctly, he partially drove up an embankment. I slammed on my breaks, getting ready to call 911 and possibly identify someone who was a menace when the driver, violently opened his door.

Out he jumps and suddenly I realize someone is on the embankment and he assaults her. I don’t recall how exactly but my memory says he slams her to the ground. I am trying to creep a bit closer to the scene bviolenceut at the same time, don’t want to call too much attention to myself. I try to tell the 911 operator the name of the cross street when the female who was assaulted comes running up to my car.

I open the passenger door and urge her to get in. She begs me not to continue my call to the police. I can tell she’s completely drunk- I can barely understand some of what she says. “Drive, drive, drive…,” she urges me.

I ask her where we’re going and she gives me a general idea and then asks me where we are. I tell her. She babbles about the situation and then tells me she has no shoes. I don’t recall if I asked her why but she eventually tells me “he” bought them for her so he wanted them back.

Yes, it occurred to me she might have been a prostitute. Yes, it occurred to drunk_girls_myspace_0_0_0x0_294x441me I might have been hurt. Yes, it occurred to me this might be a scam. But the urge to help someone who appeared to be in trouble was stronger.

We drove and talked a bit.I asked her if the guy she’d scuffled with would follow us. I tried to navigate my way through her babbling. Sometimes it was silent and eventually she asked me to turn on the radio. At some point she said “you probably have it together, don’t you?” and I giggled. Knowing what a scatterbrain I am and how many issues I have with organization.

We approached her destination and she asked me for money. I pulled $22 from my pocket. As we found her destination, she asked me for my shoes and I gave them to her.

Maybe I was had. Maybe I made the wrong decision. But I’m here and healthy and hope I never had to experience anything like that again.

One thought on “Do I miss my single years?

Leave a Reply

